If you want to know why the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles suspended your drivers license, you need to contact the Department, which is also referred to as the DMV or DHSMV. You should also obtain a copy of your driving record. Your FL drivers license may be suspended for a variety of reasons. You should know the reason before you ask yourself, “How do I get my driver’s license back in Florida?”
If you know the reason for your Florida drivers license suspension, you are one step closer to solving the problem. A copy of your driving record is also extremely helpful. As a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer, I like to have a copy of the driving record, so I can review it for problems. In many cases, I can fix a suspended Florida drivers license, but I need to know exactly what is going on first.
When a person’s license is initially suspended, it is usually due to unpaid Florida traffic tickets. When you pay your tickets, this causes you to be convicted of the driving offense. Convictions will add points to your license if the traffic tickets were for a moving violations. Florida Statute Section 322.27 is the law that adds points to your license. Section 322.27 sets forth the amount of points that will cause your drivers license to be suspended. If you receive a certain amount of points within a specified time period, you drivers license will be suspended or revoked for a certain time limit. The time limits are listed in Section 322.27(3)(a)-(c). This Florida drivers license law states:
(a) When a licensee accumulates 12 points within a 12-month period, the period of suspension shall be for not more than 30 days.
(b) When a licensee accumulates 18 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraph (a), within an 18-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 3 months.
(c) When a licensee accumulates 24 points, including points upon which suspension action is taken under paragraphs (a) and (b), within a 36-month period, the suspension shall be for a period of not more than 1 year.
If you have been given a Jacksonville traffic citation or Florida speeding ticket, a Jacksonville lawyer at 20 Miles Law may be able to help you. Even if the ticket is an old one, you may still be able to avoid the points. This is especially important when your license has been suspended for having too many points.
Do not drive on a suspended license. If you do, you will be given a ticket for driving on a suspended or revoked license. If you receive 3 driving on a suspended or revoked license tickets within 5 years, you will become a Florida Habitual Traffic Offender. Your license will be suspended for five years. If your license is suspended as a habitual traffic offender, a Jacksonville lawyer may still be able to help you. Call (904) 564-2525 or send an email to Contact Lawyers.