Were you arrested for Jacksonville driving under the influence of alcohol in Duval County? Are you facing a Florida DUI charge in Clay County? Are you fighting a DWI case in St. Johns County? If you have been arrested in Northeast Florida for driving under the influence or alcohol or a controlled substance, you should talk to a Jacksonville DUI lawyer. You can contact a Jacksonville criminal lawyer with experience with DUI and DWI cases. Call (904) 564-2525 to talk to a lawyer in Jacksonville about your case.
A driving under the influence case is more than a Jacksonville traffic ticket. It is a serious criminal charge. There are things that you should know about a Florida DUI case that a Jacksonville criminal attorney will be able to help you with. When you are arrested for DUI, you have a lot of questions about the Florida driving under the influence laws. You are looking for defenses to the DUI charge. You want to know the Jacksonville Florida DUI Penalties for Driving Under the Influence. You want to know the affect that a DUI will have on your Florida drivers license. You also want to know about the Jacksonville suspended drivers license laws.
A. First Conviction: Minimum 180 days revocation, maximum 1 year.
B. Second Conviction Within 5 Years: Minimum 5 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 1 year. Other 2nd offenders same as “A” above.
C. Third Conviction Within 10 Years of the second conviction: minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligable for a hardship reinstatement after two years.
D. Fourth Conviction, Regardless of When Prior Convictions Occurred) and Murder with Motor Vehicle: Mandatory permanent revocation. No hardship reinstatement.
E. DUI Manslaughter: Mandatory permanent revocation. If no prior DUI related convictions, may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years.
F. Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: Minimum 3-year revocation. DUI Serious Bodily Injury having prior DUI conviction is same as “B-D” above.
When you have a commercial drivers license, you need your CDL for your job. With a CDL, you normally worry about points on your license. You try to Avoid Points on a Florida Commercial Drivers License. A driving under the influence charge is much worse. The Florida DUI law for commercial motor vehicles is Florida Statute 322.61. The Florida DMV also lists this law:
1. Persons convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04 or above: driving a motor vehicle while he or she is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance or refusing to submit to a test to determine the alcohol concentration while driving a commercial motor vehicle, driving a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance, or driving a commercial motor vehicle while in possession of a controlled substance shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of 1 year. This is in addition to any provisions of s. 316.193 for DUI convictions.
2. Second or subsequent conviction of any of the above offenses arising out of separate incidents will result in a permanent disqualification from operating a commercial motor vehicle.
3. There are no provisions for persons disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle to obtain a hardship (business or employment) license to operate a commercial motor vehicle. (Florida DUI and Administrative Suspension Laws)
If your Florida drivers license has been suspended, you may be eligible for a hardship drivers license. It will depend on you driving record and prior DUI convictions. It will also depend on your blood or breath alcohol level and whether or not your refused to take the breath test. Read Jacksonville FL Hardship Drivers License after DUI DWI for more information. A DUI conviction will also be used against you under the Florida habitual traffic offender law. There are Florida Hardship Drivers License for Jacksonville Habitual Traffic Offenders.