Florida grand theft charges will depend on the value of the property taken. The threshold amount is $300. If you are accused of stealing less than $300 worth of items, you will be charged with Jacksonville petty theft. If the value of the stolen property is $300 or more, this is grand theft. Jacksonville grand theft is a felony. Petty theft is a misdemeanor. Petty theft is also referred to as petit theft in Florida. The Jacksonville Theft Law is in Florida Statute 812.014. This is the Florida Theft Law for Jacksonville Grand Theft and Petty Theft Arrests. The same theft law applies to Jacksonville juvenile criminal cases and adult charges.
Florida Statute Section 812.014 states:
(1) A person commits theft if he or she knowingly obtains or uses, or endeavors to obtain or to use, the property of another with intent to, either temporarily or permanently:
(a) Deprive the other person of a right to the property or a benefit from the property.
(b) Appropriate the property to his or her own use or to the use of any person not entitled to the use of the property.
If someone steals an Apple IPhone, this would likely be grand theft under FL laws. Due to the value of the IPhone, it seems as though more IPhones are stolen. This is true in New York City. The thefts of IPhones in New York City have caused the crime rate to increase. NBC News reported:
“A 40 percent jump in theft of Apple products is the main reason why crime rates in New York City have not declined this year, NYPD Commissioner Ray Kelly writes in a speech set to be delivered later Tuesday. ‘Overall crime is up 4 percent. In the absence of the Apple thefts, we would be experiencing a decline,’ Kelly wrote. Kelly said there were 11,447 thefts of Apple products so far in 2012, an increase of 3,280 over the same period last year.”
Apple has taken measures that should help reduce the theft crimes. The IPhone has “automatic shut off technology when a phone is stolen making it unusable.” The phones also have “tracking systems like the ‘find my iphone’ application.”
If you have been arrested for theft in Jacksonville FL, you should talk to a Jacksonville criminal lawyer immediately. Call (904) 564-2525 or send an email. Many Florida petit theft charges are first-degree misdemeanors, which are punishable by up to 1 year in jail. The lowest degree of grand theft is a third-degree felony. This is punishable by up to 5 years in Florida State Prison. Even if you do not serve any jail time, a Florida theft crime can still hurt you. Your theft charge will show up on a criminal background check. At 20 Miles Law, a Jacksonville lawyer could help you take care of your case in a manner to clear your Florida criminal record later. Talk to a Jacksonville criminal attorney to seal or expunge your Florida record. A theft conviction can also result in a suspended Florida drivers license. Your Florida drivers license will be suspended under Florida Statute Section 812.0155. There are also special rules for Jacksonville juveniles. Read “Jacksonville Drivers License Suspended for Theft” for more information.